Indonesia
Description

Indonesia's first coffee plant was of the Arabica variety brought in by the Dutch around 1690. From that time on, the business of cultivating coffee in Indonesia has endured a long and turbulent history. Coffee production today is divided among two farming systems; 90% of the producers are small-scale plantations, whereas 10% of the coffee is produced by state-owned plantations (PTP). Of the more than 300 exporters in Indonesia, only 30 are of commercial significance. Cultivation areas are found throughout the island, including Sumatra (Mendheling), Sulawesi, Java, Flores, Kalimantan and Timor.  
 
The growing areas are found at between 600 and 2500 meters above sea-level. 80% of beans are of the Robusta variety grown at between 600 and 1100 meters above sea-level. The Arabica beans account for 20% of export volume, grown at between 1000 and 2500 meters above sea level.  
 
The harvest varies greatly because of the very different types, climatic conditions and production output throughout the year. In the north, harvest time is between December and March, whereas from May to September in the south. The coffee is harvested by hand. After harvesting, 90% of Robusta are processed dry. However, some special types of Robusta and Arabica beans are processed wet (AP, WIP). 
 
Coffee from Indonesia is classified into seven levels, or 'grades', from 1 to 6 based on the number of defects.  
 
Production in the 2013/14 harvest year, based on 60-kg sacks: 9'500’000

L' Indonésie
Description

Le premier caféier de l'Indonésie était de l’espèce arabica importée par les Hollandais vers 1690. Depuis lors, la culture du café en Indonésie a connu une histoire mouvementée. Les plantations sont gérées par deux structures: 90 % des producteurs sont de petits fermiers et 10 % sont des plantations nationales (PTP). Il y a plus de 300 exportateurs, une trentaine ayant une importance économique. Les zones de production connues se répartissent sur l’ensemble de l’archipel : Sumatra (Mandheling), Sulawesi, Java, Flores, Kalimantan, Timor.  
 
Les aires de culture se situent entre 600 et 2500 mètres d’altitude. 80 % des espèces cultivées sont les robustas, à des altitudes comprises entre 600 et 1100 mètres. Les arabicas constituent 20 % du volume des exportations. Ils sont cultivés à des altitudes comprises entre 1000 et 2500 mètres. 
 
La récolte a lieu pendant toute l'année, en raison de la grande diversité des espèces, des conditions climatiques et des altitudes. Dans le Nord, la récolte a essentiellement lieu de décembre à mars, dans le Sud, plutôt de mai à septembre. On récolte à la main. Après la récolte, 90 % des robustas subissent un traitement par la voie sèche. Quelques variétés des robustas et les arabicas subissent cependant un traitement par la voie humide (AP, WIP). 
 
La classification des cafés en provenance de l'Indonésie s’effectue en 7 niveaux par « degré » de 1 à 6 selon le nombre de défauts.  
 
Production de l'année de récolte 2013/14 en sacs de 60 kg: 9'500’000